Robert

STEVE, Song Writer &  Photographer

Outgoing  •  creative  •  funny

quote.jpeg

I love hosting and sharing my creative space with other artists and creatives.


GUEST ROOM

CHECK AVAILABILITY

GUEST ROOM
£45/night

Maximum 2 guests with 1 Double Bed
Responds within 24hrs.


ABOUT MY SPACE

My large live-work space is in Harlesden, NW London, just a five minute walk from the very well-connected Zone 2 station Willesden Junction, which has both Underground (Bakerloo) and Overground lines (Euston, Stratford, Richmond and Clapham Junction).

My home is a very relaxed and comfortable, creative space with exposed steel beams and high industrial-style ceilings in a secure, gated development of 25 similar apartments, which were built in 2000. Huge, dual aspect (South and West) windows flood it with natural light. It has super-fast fibre-optic broadband and a great kitchen area. I love cooking and offer my guests a two course dinner for just £10, should they so require. I'm also a lover of fine red wine, but guests can bring their own! There's a small fridge for guests' exclusive use. Otherwise, the neighbourhood offers a range of excellent restaurants (the area has London's largest Brazilian population) and bars. Queens Park, Kensal Rise, Kensal Green and Notting Hill are all within easy reach, as is Wembley Stadium, Hampstead Heath and Kew Gardens. I also have a verdant outside space (where guests can smoke)with plenty of seats and a table. On Underground (tube) and /or Overground the West End is just 25 mins away, Paddington Station 18 mins, Euston Station 15 mins, Charing Cross 30 mins, Clapham Junction 20 mins, Stratford 50 mins and Heathrow and Gatwick around 90 minutes. Harlesden is a lively, friendly, diverse urban neighbourhood that is very much up-and-coming. I've lived here for 8 years and have never experienced any problems on the street.

 

DETAILS

✓ Wi-Fi
✓ Clothes washer

✓ Clothes dryer
✓ Complete kitchen
✓ No smoking allowed
✓ No pets allowed
✓ Towels
✓ Hair dryer
✓ Wheelchair accessible


ABOUT ME & MY WORK

I grew-up in a village between Bath and Bristol and was educated at Sexey's School Bruton, Somerset, The Bristol Cathedral School and (briefly) The West of England College Of Art, before dropping-out to join my first band Squidd. 

I'm a gay man and, astrologically, a Scorpio/Dragon. I got my first major record deal with RCA when I was 21. In 1996 I joined of the hugely successful pop group Pilot as their keyboard player, then joined the Space-rock pioneers Hawkwind in 1978. I left the band in 1979 and went to New York and landed my second record deal with Atco/WEA records in three days. I was signed personally by Doug Morris, who is now the President of Sony Music. David Bowie, Jim (Meatloaf) Steinman and Jimmy (Bruce Springsteen) Iovine all offered to produce the album, having heard the demos, but I ended-up producing it myself (I guess they were too expensive). The resulting 1980 album 'Fresh Blood' got rave reviews ("A glittering deubt - boy can this guy write lyrics" Rolling Stone)and reached number 3 in the American Airplay Charts. Both my first album 'Messages' and 'Fresh Blood' were remastered and re-issued on Cherry Red Records in 2009. My follow-up to Fresh Blood, 'The Lost Albums' was finally released as a double CD in 2012. In 1981 I was inexplicably dropped by Atco and Trinifold Management (who still look after The Who). The only upside was Roger Daltrey recording four of my songs over three albums. In 1982 I re-invented myself as a highly successful club promoter and party organiser (Madonna, Prince, The Face and Time Out magazines) and this continued until the early 90s when I had another shot at conquering the music industry. This didn't work out, so in 1996 I became a freelance journalist, writing the internet column for Time Out and a lifestyle column for Attitude Magazine, then I also became the editor of their website. In 1999 I developed a mystery illness and nearly died, before it was finally diagnosed as Pancreatitis in 2006. I'd also been diagnosed with COPD in 2004 (which is when I gave-up smoking). I had my first digital home studio in 1988, and have created a huge body of music as a result. I'm constantly creating stuff and never, ever suffer from so-called writer's block! 


LOCATION